Start ABOUT US

A History of Success


Founding the festival

1991

 

 Gerhard Kämpfe has the idea to create a music festival on Gendarmenmarkt.

1992

 

The first Classic Open Air Festival opens with a concert by José Carreras, and two further concerts follow. The event is conceived and organised by the festival’s founder, Gerhard Kämpfe, with the support of his colleagues from ‘Erste Stunde’: Dr. Jürgen Hagen (who remains an artistic advisor to the festival) and Eike von Oppeln-Bronikowski.

1998

 

Mario Hempel joins as Managing Director of the festival, to help deal with the increasing logistical work involved (the festival had expanded by this stage to include up to seven concerts annually). Ever since, the festival has been successfully organised annually through the co-operation of Gerhard Kämpfe as Festival Director (focusing on artistic and production management) and Mario Hempel as Managing Director (focusing on marketing, logistics and finance).

Concept
The essential concept of the festival is to bring classical music concerts to the widest possible audiences by setting them on the unique stage of Berlin’s historic Gendarmenmarkt square. The artistic variety of the festival comprises everything from the so-called Star-Concerts, to Concept-Concerts (performances of Verdi, Wagner, Strauss and others) and what have become known as Crossover-Concerts - which create a unique mix of pop, rock, or jazz with the sounds of a classical ensemble orchestra.

Notable former performers
José Carreras, Montserrat Caballé, Roberto Alagna, José Cura, Marcelo Alvarez, Anna Maria Kaufmann, Thomas Quasthoff, Lucia Aliberti, Buena Vista Social Club, Chaka Khan, Al Jarreau, Chris de Burgh, die Scorpions, Xavier Naidoo & die Söhne Mannheims, Roger Cicero, Udo Jürgens, Till Brönner, Paul Kuhn, Anett Louisan, Curtis Stigers and many more. 

Visitor numbers
Since 1992, the festival has thrilled over 723,000 guests with 129 individual concerts. The festival appeals to a remarkably wide audience demographic. One survey indicated that some 70% of the festival’s attendees rarely go to mainstream opera or classical concerts. The festival serves then to attract especially this demographic to classical music and musical theatre. The programme always features high-quality performances, whilst maintaining a connection to popular music genres.
 
Media
Pictures of the festival have been published in 60 different countries throughout the world. Every year, countless column inches are dedicated to the festival in both print and online media.

Highlights of the concert staging
Particularly sought-after are tickets for concerts which feature light, laser and firework displays to complement the beauty of this unique architectural backdrop.

Awards
In 2006 the Classic Open Air Festival was honoured with the “LEA - Live Entertainment Award 2005” for the artistic breadth of its programme.

Future plans
The successful festival concept will be continued in future years. The organisers have secured a long-term contract with the city authorities, meaning the concert’s future is guaranteed for future years.

To fittingly celebrate our 20th anniversary year, we prepared a print publication documenting the Classic Open Air Festival and its history. It is available online via our website.

Sincerely,

MEDIA ON-LINE Management GmbH &Co.Classic Open Air KG, Festival Direction 

 
  • Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)
  • English

Hilton logo blue 250

Stay right on the Gendarmenmarkt at the Hilton Berlin!

Book HERE and enjoy a perfect stay in a top location!
With best price guarantee.

 

Become a fan of
Classic Open Air on Facebook and
win amazing prizes!

Classic Open Air 2017

Noch



Countdown
abgelaufen
Start Über uns
Chronologie eines Erfolges

Gründung des Festivals 

1991

 

Gerhard Kämpfe hat die Idee, ein Musikfestival auf dem Gendarmenmarkt zu veranstalten.

1992

 

Das erste Classic Open Air-Festivals wird mit dem Konzert von José Carreras eröffnet, zwei weitere Konzerte folgen. Es wird veranstaltet vom Initiator und Gründer Gerhard Kämpfe mit Hilfe seiner Mitstreiter der „Ersten Stunde“: Dr. Jürgen Hagen (noch heute künstlerischer Berater) und  Eike von Oppeln- Bronikowski.

1998

 

Einstieg von Mario Hempel als Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, um den gewachsenen Managementaufgaben des Festivals Rechnung zu tragen (das Festival expandierte auf bis zu 7 Konzerte im Jahr). Seither erfolgreiche gemeinsame Organisation des Festivals durch Gerhard Kämpfe als Festivaldirektor (Schwerpunkt: künstlerisches und Produktionsmanagement) und Mario Hempel als Geschäftsführer (Schwerpunkt: Marketing, Vertrieb und Finanzen).

 

Konzept
Das Grundkonzept ist klassische Musikkonzerte in der einmaligen Kulisse des Gendarmenmarktes mitten im Herzen der Hauptstadt Berlin zu inszenieren und damit ein breites Publikum anzusprechen. Die künstlerische Bandbreite des Festivals erstreckt sich von den sogenannten „Star“-Konzerten über die „Konzept“-Konzerte (z.B.Verdi, Wagner, Strauß) bis hin zu den sogenannten Crossover-Konzerten, bei denen Pop-, Rock-, oder Jazzmusik immer mit dem klassischen Klangkörper fusioniert (im Titel des Festivals heißt es daher auch „Classic“ anstatt „Klassik“, um diese Bandbreite deutlich zu machen). 

Stars der bisherigen Festivals
José Carreras, Montserrat Caballé, Roberto Alagna, José Cura, Marcelo Alvarez, Anna Maria Kaufmann, Thomas Quasthoff, Lucia Aliberti, Buena Vista Social Club, Chaka Khan, Al Jarreau, Chris de Burgh, die Scorpions, Xavier Naidoo & die Söhne Mannheims, Roger Cicero, Udo Jürgens, Till Brönner, Paul Kuhn, Annett Louisan, Curtis Stigers etc. 

Besucherzahlen
Seit 1992 haben über 723.000 Besucher in 129 Konzerten das Festival erlebt. Das Festival spricht eine breite Zielgruppe an. Eine Erhebung ergab, dass ca. 70%  der Besucher selten in klassische Konzerte oder Opernhäuser gehen. So soll das Festival auch dazu dienen, diese Besuchergruppe an die klassische Musik und das Musiktheater heranzuführen. Die Programme sind künstlerisch hochwertig, beinhalten aber auch immer populäre Musikwerke. 

Medien
Bilder des Festivals waren bisher in über 60 Ländern der Welt zu sehen. Die Berichterstattung über das Festival ist sowohl im Printbereich als auch in den elektronischen Medien in jedem Jahr enorm. 

Szenische Highlights
Besonders beliebt beim Publikum sind die Konzerte,  welche mit Licht, Laser oder Feuerwerk, unter Einbeziehung der einmaligen architektonischen Kulisse,  inszeniert werden. 

Auszeichnung
Im Jahr 2006 wurde das Classic Open Air Festival mit dem begehrten „LEA – Live Entertainment Award 2005“ von der Deutschen Veranstaltungsbranche für die große künstlerische Bandbreite des Festivals ausgezeichnet. 

Zukunftspläne
Das erfolgreiche Festival-Konzept soll in den nächsten Jahren weitergeführt werden. Die Veranstalter haben sich mit dem Bezirk Mitte auf den Abschluss eines langjährigen Vertrages geeinigt, der die Planungssicherheit für die nächsten Jahre gewährleistet. 

Um sich gebührend zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum zu präsentieren, wurde eine Publikation über das Classic Open Air Festival vorbereitet, die Sie hier auf unserer Internetseite bestellen können.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem rbb wurde eine TV-Dokumentation zum Jubiläum fertig gestellt, die am Mittwoch, den 29. Juni 2011, 20.15 Uhr zum ersten Mal gesendet wurde.

Wir freuen uns über Ihr Interesse! 

Ihre MEDIA ON-LINE Management GmbH & Co. Classic Open Air KG Festivalleitung

 

Der Bürgermeister von Berlin Mitte Dr. Christian Hanke über das Classic Open Air:

 
  • Deutsch (DE-CH-AT)
  • English

Hilton logo blue 250

Übernachten Sie direkt am Gendarmenmarkt im Hilton Berlin!

Buchen Sie HIER und sichern Sie sich Ihren perfekten Aufenthalt in einer Top-Lage!
Mit Bestpreisgarantie.

Werden Sie Fan auf Facebook und gewinnen Sie tolle Preise!